Sign up for free newsletter



Bermudu added to NAIC list of qualified jurisdictions

Mon, 23/12/2013 - 15:08

Bermuda has been granted conditional qualified jurisdiction status by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) effective 1 January 2014.

The other three jurisdictions approved by the NAIC are Germany, Switzerland and the UK.
The NAIC developed the “Process for Developing and Maintaining the NAIC List of Qualified Jurisdictions” (NAIC Process) to evaluate the regulatory frameworks of non-US jurisdictions for reinsurance collateral reduction purposes.
Approval under the NAIC Process means that reinsurers licensed and domiciled in Bermuda will be eligible to be certified for reduced reinsurance collateral requirements under the NAIC's Credit for Reinsurance Model Law.
Jeremy Cox, chief executive of the Bermuda Monetary Authority, says: “We are very pleased with the outcome of this initial step in the NAIC’s Process. Having this status is highly relevant to the Bermuda market, in terms of potentially facilitating efficiencies in the cross-border operations of Bermuda reinsurance with the US insurance market. We look forward to working with the NAIC to complete the process in the coming months.”
In September, the Authority was the first insurance supervisor to agree to participate in an expedited review under the NAIC Process. The full review of the four approved jurisdictions will take place during 2014.

Subscribe to free daily newsletter
C# Quantitative Developer

Thu, 05 Mar 2015 00:00:00 GMT

Financial Model Development Managaer

Thu, 05 Mar 2015 00:00:00 GMT

Senior C# Web Developer 200-300K

Thu, 05 Mar 2015 00:00:00 GMT